Skip to Content


Approved starter cultures

Effective 22 October 2016 to 29 April 2017

Acetobacter spp.

Aspergillus oryzae

Aspergillus niger

Bacillus acidopullulyticus

Bacillus amyloliquefaciens

Bacillus coagulans

Bacillus halodurans

Bacillus licheniformis

Bacillus subtilis

Bifidobacterium spp.

Brevibacterium linens

Candida spp.

Chaetomium gracile

Citeromyces spp.

Clavispora spp.

Debaryomyces spp.

Dekkera spp.

Enterococcus durans

Enterococcus faecalis

Enterococcus faecium

Geotrichum candidum

Hansenula spp.

Hasagawaea spp.

Humicola insolens

Hypopichia spp.

Issatchenkia spp.

Kluyveromyces spp.

Lactobacillus spp.

Lactococcus spp.

Leuconostoc spp. (Oenococcus spp.)

Monascus spp.

Pediococcus pentasaceus

Penicillium camemberti (also known as Penicillium camembertii)

Penicillium roqueforti (also known as Penicillium roquefortii)

Phaffia spp.

Pichia spp.

Propionibacterium spp.

Rhizopus spp.

Saccharomyces spp.

Schizosaccharomyces spp.

Schwanniomyces spp.

Staphylococcus carnosus

Staphylococcus xylosus

Streptococcus cremoris

Streptococcus diacetilactis

Streptococcus durans

Streptococcus faecalis

Streptococcus lactis

Streptococcus salivarius

Streptococcus thermophilus

Streptomyces olivaceus

Streptomyces olivochromogenes

Streptomyces murinus

Streptomyces mobaraensis (former name Streptoverticillium mobaraensis)

Streptomyces rubiginosus

Streptomyces violaceoruber

Talaromyces emersonii (former name Penicillium emersonii)

Trichoderma harzianum

Trichoderma reesei (former name Trichoderma longibrachiatum)

Trichoderma viride

Torulaspora spp.

Torulopsis spp.

Zygoascus spp.

Zygosaccharomyces spp.

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment | © Commonwealth of Australia | Accessibility | Privacy | Conditions of Use | Department Feedback |