Skip to Content


List: Approved starter cultures

Effective 19 June 2020 to 2 October 2021

List of approved starter cultures

Acetobacter spp.

Aspergillus brasiliensis

Aspergillus oryzae

Aspergillus niger

Bacillus acidopullulyticus

Bacillus amyloliquefaciens

Bacillus coagulans

Bacillus halodurans

Bacillus licheniformis

Bacillus subtilis

Baker's yeast

Bifidobacterium spp.

Brevibacterium linens

Brewer's yeast

Candida spp.

Chaetomium gracile

Citeromyces spp.

Clavispora spp.

Debaryomyces spp.

Dekkera spp.

Enterococcus durans

Enterococcus faecalis

Enterococcus faecium

Geotrichum candidum

Hansenula spp.

Hasegawaea spp.

Humicola insolens

Hyphopichia spp.

Issatchenkia spp.

Kluyveromyces spp.

Lactic acid bacteria

Lactobacillus spp.

Lactococcus spp.

Leuconostoc spp. (Oenococcus spp.)

Monascus spp.

Pediococcus pentosaceus

Penicillium camemberti (also known as Penicillium camembertii and Penicillium candidum)

Penicillium funiculosum

Penicillium roqueforti (also known as Penicillium roquefortii)

Phaffia spp.

Pichia spp.

Propionibacterium spp.

Rhizopus spp.

Saccharomyces spp.

Schizosaccharomyces spp.

Schwanniomyces spp.

Staphylococcus carnosus

Staphylococcus xylosus

Streptococcus cremoris

Streptococcus diacetilactis

Streptococcus durans

Streptococcus faecalis

Streptococcus lactis

Streptococcus salivarius

Streptococcus thermophilus

Streptomyces olivaceus

Streptomyces olivochromogenes

Streptomyces murinus

Streptomyces mobaraensis (former name Streptoverticillium mobaraensis)

Streptomyces rubiginosus

Streptomyces violaceoruber

Talaromyces emersonii (former name Penicillium emersonii)

Torulaspora spp.

Torulopsis spp.

Trichoderma harzianum

Trichoderma reesei (former name Trichoderma longibrachiatum)

Trichoderma viride

Wine culture

Yoghurt/Kefir culture

Zygoascus spp.

Zygosaccharomyces spp.

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry | © Commonwealth of Australia | Accessibility | Privacy | Conditions of Use | Department Feedback |